Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2 by 10: Improved Best Practices for Routine HPV Vaccination

September 9 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every 2 weeks that begins at 12:00 pm on Friday, repeating until October 7, 2022

Human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccination is critical in the fight against cancer to protect the individual and create community immunity. However, immunization rates are dangerously low. Only about half of adolescents in South Dakota are fully vaccinated against HPV. In addition, the COVID-19 pandemic has caused a decrease in routine immunization rates in particular adolescents, including HPV vaccination.

Join Immunize South Dakota for a virtual training focusing on the importance of routinely recommending timely vaccination against preventable cancers caused by HPV. Presenters will share state-based immunization rates for 9 – 12-year-olds. They will present key strategies to support practice change for recommending vaccines, including conversations to address misconceptions and vaccine hesitancy to improve vaccination rates. Additionally, participants will hear the new best practice of starting the HPV vaccine series at ages 9-10, established by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and American Cancer Society (ACS).

Immunize South Dakota will offer this one-hour live webinar three times to allow participants to choose which date and time that works best for them.

  • September 9, 2022, 12:00 P.M. CT
  • September 21, 2022, 11:00 A.M. CT
  • October 7, 2022, 12:00 P.M. CT

This training is intended for all health care team members who impact the medical care of adolescents such medical providers, nurses, pharmacists, school nurses, community health workers, along with others. Register for one of the three sessions below.

Sept. 09, 12:00 P.M. CT / 11:00 A.M. MT  Sept. 21, 11:00 A.M. CT/ 10:00 A.M. MT  Oct. 07, 12:00 P.M. CT/ 11:00 A.M. MT